The Western Undergraduate Exchange (WUE) is a program through which students in participating states may enroll in designated two-year and four-year public institutions and programs in other participating states at a special, reduced tuition level. Tuition for WUE students is 150% of the regular in-state tuition which is substantially less than nonresident tuition. Students do not need to demonstrate financial need to receive the WUE tuition benefit.

To be eligible for the WUE, students must be a resident of a participating state, including: Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington and Wyoming. Each state determines which institutions and programs it will make available to students in the WUE. Eligibility for admission and for WUE tuition is determined by each participating institution. V isit the WUE website at for additional information concerning school specific requirements, as well as for a list of participating schools.


If you are a resident of a WICHE state, you are eligible to request a reduced WUE tuition rate of 150% of the resident rate at one of the 145 participating colleges and universities in the West. Virtually all undergraduate fields are available to WUE students at participating colleges and universities. Some institutions have opened their entire curriculum on a space-available or first-come, first-serve basis; others offer only designated programs at the reduced WUE rate.