Dave Naylor Voted Cross Country Boys Coach of the Year

Dave Naylor was named the 2015 4A Cross Country Boys Coach of the Year this past weekend. The award is voted on by and awarded through the Board of the New Mexico Track and Cross Country Coaches Association. It is comprised of AD’s and Coaches (both Track and Field and Cross Country) from across the state, levels A-AAAAAA.

Mr. Naylor also won the Girls Cross Country Coach of the Year in 2012 and 2013 for AA and the AA Baseball Coach of the Year award in 2007 and 2012.

Cross Country had a very good season, the school’s second since being moved to AAAA.EMHS won both the girls and boys district team and individual championships–that was the fourth in a row for the girls and third consecutive for the boys, while Alex Heffelfinger and Addi Rauch won both district individual championships again; Addi’s fourth in a row, and Alex’s third consecutive. The district awarded Coach of the Year for both Boys and Girls to EMHS, which was the second year in a row for that sweep as well.

The team also placed 2nd overall in the boys state race (the highest placement for the boys cross team, second highest in school history) and Alex Heffelfinger won his second consecutive boys individual state title. Addison won her first individual state title, while the girls team finished fifth overall.